Homabay County

Homa Bay County is county number 043 in the Kenya county codes. It is located in the Southern part of Nyanza, along the southern shores of Lake Victoria- Africa’s largest Freshwater lake. Known for its scenic hills and picturesque shoreline, Homa Bay County covers an area of 3,183.3 sq km with a population of about 1.3m million people. It borders five other Counties;- Migori to the South, Kisii, and Nyamira to the East, and Kericho and Kisumu to the North East. It is accessible by lake transport, road and air. Its Kabunde Airstrip has just been renovated and opened for commercial flights. The County is divided into eight Sub-Counties, namely:


  • Mbita
  • Ndhiwa,
  • Homa Bay Town
  • Rangwe
  • Karachuonyo
  • Kabondo
  • Kasipul
  • Suba

Cyprian Otieno Awiti is the governor and serving his last term in office after being elected in 2013 and 2017 general elections and currently deputized by Hamiliton Onyango Orata. Moses Otieno Kajwang’ is the senator and was elected in 2015 in a by election due to the death of brother Gerald Otieno Kajwang. He won also his in 2017 elections. Gladys Atieno Nyasuna Wanga is second women representative to hold office after being elected in 2017.

The County headquarters – Homa Bay town is located some 105km south of Kisumu and about 420km south-west of Nairobi. Under the leadership of the governor Cyprian Otieno Awiti the county achieved the following.


Scroll to Top

Add A Question !

You will receive an email when your question will be answered.

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Skip to content