Kitui County

The name Kitui means ‘a place where iron goods are made’. The Kamba iron-smiths who settled in the county many years before the colonial period are the ones who named the area Kitui. It is county number 015 in the Kenya county numbering codes. It is located in the Eastern partn of the country and borders Tharaka-Nithi and Meru to the north, Embu to the northwest, Machakos and Makueni to the west, Tana River to the east and southeast, and Taita-Taveta to the south. It covering an area of 30,430 km² and has a total population of 1,136,187. The county is divided into eight sub counties namely:

  • Kitui West Sub-County
  • Kitui Central Sub-County.
  • Kitui Rural Sub-County.
  • Kitui South Sub-County.
  • Kitui East Sub-County.
  • Mwingi North Sub-County.
  • Mwingi West Sub-County.
  • Mwingi Central Sub-County

The county was first governed by Governor Julius Makau Malombe. Governor Julius Makau Malombe was overthrown by the current governor, Governor Charity Ngilu. Under the leadership of the two Governors, the county has achieved the following through the department.

Log In is required for submitting new question.

Scroll to Top