Background Information

The planning function in Kenya dates back to the pre-independence period and can be traced to the Oliver Lyttleton Constitution of 1954, when the Ministry of Finance and Development was created. On attainment of independence in December 1963, the Ministry of Economic Planning and Development was created to spearhead development planning in Kenya. It had three divisions or units that included: Administration, Statistics, and Planning.

Over the years, the planning mandate has been executed either in a fully-fledged Ministry or in a division of the Ministry responsible for Finance and Planning. In 2013, Planning became a State Department under the Ministry of Devolution and Planning and in 2017, it was moved to The National Treasury and Planning.

Last Update: November 15, 2021
November 15, 2021 124 adminPlanning
Total 0 Votes

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Log In is required for submitting new question.

Log In is required for submitting new question.

Scroll to Top