Baringo County

Baringo county is county number 030 in the Kenya county code numbering system. The county is situated in the Rift Valley Region and shares borders with 8 counties namely, West Pokot to the North West, Turkana to the North, Samburu to the North East, Laikipia to the East, Nakuru to the South, Kericho and Uasin-Gishu Counties to the South West, and Elgeyo-Marakwet to the West. The County is divided into 6 Sub-Counties, namely:

  • Baringo South
  • Mogotio
  • Eldama Ravine
  • Baringo Central
  • Baringo North
  • Tiaty

Baringo county occupies an area of 11,015 square kilometers and had a population of 666,763 people in 2019 census. The main ethnic communities inhabiting Baringo County are the Tugen, Pokot and Ilchamus with minority groups such as the Endorois, Nubians, Ogiek, Kikuyu and Turkana. The county was first governed by His Excellency Governor Benjamin Chesire Cheboi who ruled for the first term and later overthrown by H.E. Stanley Kiptis who is the current governor. Under devolution the two governors have performed in county, achieved a lot and also went through challenges that acted as a hinderance to achieving their goals and objectives. The tasks performed are controlled under different departments as we are going to see.

Scroll to Top

Add A Question !

You will receive an email when your question will be answered.

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Skip to content