Nairobi County

Nairobi is the capital and the largest city of Kenya. The name comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nairobi, which translates to “cool water”, a reference to the Nairobi River which flows through the city. The city is popularly referred to as the Green City in the Sun. Nairobi County is county number 047 in the Kenya county code numbering system. It borders Kiambu County to the North and West, Kajiado to the South and Machakos to the East. Among the three neighboring counties, Kiambu County shares the longest boundary with Nairobi County.

The County is divided into 17 Sub-Counties, namely:

  1. Westlands
  2. Dagoretti North
  3. Dagoretti South
  4. Langata
  5. Kibra
  6. Roysambu
  7. Kasarani
  8. Ruaraka
  9. Embakasi South
  10. Embakasi North
  11. Embakasi Central
  12. Embakasi East
  13. Embakasi West
  14. Makadara
  15. Kamukunji
  16. Starehe
  17. Mathare

Ann Kananu Mwenda is the Governor of Nairobi County. Before that, from 15 January 2021 until 16 November 2021, she serves as the substantive Deputy Governor of Nairobi County, after vetting by the county legislature. She also served as the Acting Governor of the county, following the December 2020 impeachment and removal from office of Mike Sonko, the previous governor. In keeping with Kenyan laws, Kananu will serve out the remaining term of the previous governor. The county had achieved the following.

Scroll to Top

Add A Question !

You will receive an email when your question will be answered.

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Skip to content