Bungoma County

Bungoma county is county number 039 in the Kenya county numbering system.  It is found in the Western region of Kenya. It borders three Counties: Kakamega on the South, Trans Nzoia on the North, and Busia on the West. It also enjoys a vast shared international border with Uganda. The economy of Bungoma County is mainly agricultural, centering on the sugarcane and maize industries. The area experiences high rainfall throughout the year and is home to several large rivers, which are used for small-scale irrigation. Bungoma County is home to an estimated 1.7 million people and sits on an area of 2,069 km². Bungoma is the 3rd populous County after Nairobi and Kakamega. Bungoma County has 9 constituencies and 45 County Assembly wards. The 9 constituencies, which also serve as Sub-Counties, include

  • Kanduyi
  • Bumula
  • Webuye East
  • Webuye West
  • Kabuchai,
  • Sirisia
  • Tongaren,
  • Kimilili
  • Elgon.

The county was first governed by H.E Governor Kenneth Makelo Lusaka who is the speaker of National. Currently, the county is under the leadership of Governor Wycliffe Wafula Wangamati. Under the leadership of the two Governors, the county has achieved a lot and faced several challenges that have hindered its progress in some departments.

Scroll to Top

Add A Question !

You will receive an email when your question will be answered.

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Skip to content