Garissa County

Garissa County is county number 007 in the county numbering codes. It is found in the North Eastern region of the country and borders Wajir County to the North, Tana River County to the West, Lamu County to the South, and Isiolo to the North West and shares an international boundary with Somalia to the East. The county covers an area of 44,753km² and has a population of population of 841,353 at the 2019 Census. The county is divided into sub counties namely:

  1. Garissa Township
  2. Ijara
  3. Dadaab
  4. Lagdera
  5. Fafi
  6. Balambala

The county was first governed by Governor Nathif Jama Adam who was overthrowned by the current Governor, Governor H.E Ali Bunow Korane. Under their leadership the county has achieved the following.

Scroll to Top

Add A Question !

You will receive an email when your question will be answered.

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Skip to content