Meru County

Meru county is county number 012 in the Kenya county codes. It is located in the Eastern region of the country and borders Isiolo County to the North, Tharaka/Nithi County to the East, Nyeri County to the South West and Laikipia County to the West. It covers a total area of 7,006 Km2 out of which with part of it 972.3Km² being gazetted as forest. It has a population of 1.55 million people. The county is devided into nine sub counties namely:

  • Buuri East Sub-County
  • Buuri West Sub-County
  • Igembe North Sub-County
  • Igembe South Sub-County
  • Igembe Central Sub-County
  • Imenti North Sub-County
  • Imenti South Sub-County
  • Imenti Central Sub-County
  • Tigania East Sub-County
  • Tigania West Sub-County

The County was first governed by Governor Peter Munya then by Governor Kiraitu Murungi as the second Governor. Under the leadership of the two governors the county achieved the following.

Log In is required for submitting new question.

Scroll to Top